Adamstown Castle

A memorial stone, now built into a wall at Adamstown House, was found above the entrance of the destroyed bawn at Adamstown Castle. A latin inscription on the stone reads: Pray for the souls of Nicholas Devereux, Knight, and Lady Katherine Power, his wife, who built this manor-AD 1556. William Marshall granted the manors at Maghairnidhe, now Adamstown, and Ballymagir in Bargy to Sir Alexander de Heddon in c.1180. His Daughter Alina married Sir Philip Devereux in 1195. They were held by a Stephen Devereux in 1324. Adam Devereux, after whom the town is named, built a castle here in 1418. Sir Nicholas and Katherine rebuilt it in 1556. Katherine was the daughter of Sr Richard le Poer (Power) of Curraghmore, County Waterford.

The destroyed northeast corner

Situated: From Adamstown head north west past the church on the L4009. Then take the first right. The castle can be seen from the road, in the second field on your right.

Discovery Map 77: S 8689. Last visit Jun 2019.

Longitude: 6° 43' 23" W

Latitude: 52° 24' 4" N

Google Map

Photos: Jim Dempsey.

Ref: Redmond, Gabriel O'C. “On a Unique Memorial Slab to Sir Nicholas Devereux, Knight, of Balmagir, Co. Wexford, and His Wife, Dame Catherine Power, of Coroghmore.” The Journal of the Royal Historical and Archaeological Association of Ireland, vol. 8, no. 75, 1888, pp. 408–413. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/25506463.

Previous-----Home-----Next Page