Cramps Castle

Tower House

The multiperiod castle at Crampscastle townland belonged the the Earls of Ormond. It is believed the castle as originally built as a hall-house, this original phase of construction survives to first floor level. After a rebuild, which took place in the 16th century, the castle stood four storeys high. A garderobe tower, not visible in these photos, projects from the north east corner of the building. Constructed of rough course limestone rubble the west wall and southwest corner of the structure collapsed in 1893.

We only managed to take a few shots of the castle from the R692, but hopefully we will get a closer inspection of the castle in the future. As the castle stands on private grounds, permission must be sought before visiting.

Situated: From Fethard town centre take the R692 north-east for about one kilometre. The castle should be visible, situated on farmland on your left.

 

Discovery Map 67: S 2176 3548. Last visit Sept 2020.

Longitude: 7° 40' 49.4" W

Latitude: 52° 28' 14.6" N

Google Map

Photos: Jim Dempsey.

Previous-----Home-----Next