Ballyoughteragh South/ An Baile Uachtarach Thiar Ferriter's Castle / Caisleán an Fheirtéaraigh Ferriter's Castle is beautifully situated on Doon Point, formerly known as Sybil head, a long, narrow promontory, located on the northside of Ferriter's Cove. It stands inside the low eastern banks of a much earlier promontory fort. The Ferriter's were a Norman family and held land here as early as the 13th century. The castle was probably constructed in the late 15th or early 16th century by the widow of Pierce Ferriter, it was known by the Irish as Castle Sybil and appears on 16th/17th century maps as such. The castle was in ruins by 1756. At one time the Blasket Islands were held by the Earl of Desmond, an overlord of the Ferriter chieftains, who paid tribute to him in Irish hawks. The Earl gave the Blasket Islands to the Ferriter family, around this time they were known as Ferriter's Islands.
Very litte remains of the castle today, only the north-west angle and scant remains of the south-east angle survives. In the lower part of the west wall is a lintelled opening that maybe the end of a garderobe chute and a the top of the same wall is a blocked window ope. The lower storey may have been vaulted. |
|
West wall |
Arch in north wall |
|
Situated: On Doon Point in Ballyoughteragh South townland, Dingle Peninsula.
Discovery Map 70: Q 3219 0536. Last visit July 2021. Longitude: 10° 27' 14.7" W Latitude: 52° 10' 29.6" N Photos: José Gutierrez. |
|
Ref: Hitchcock, Richard. “The Castles of Corkaguiny, County of Kerry. No. II.” Proceedings and Transactions of the Kilkenny and South-East of Ireland Archaeological Society, vol. 3, no. 2, 1855, pp. 384–97. JSTOR, http://www.jstor.org/stable/25493672. Captain Crane. “The Legend of Sybil Head.” Kerry Archaeological Magazine, vol. 1, no. 3, 1909, pp. 143–47. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/30059604. Accessed 13 Oct. 2025. |
|